Information about my horse's pedigree

Ask members to help you find horse pictures, past performances, past owners/trainers, or tracks where a horse won it's last race.

Moderators: Roguelet, WaveMaster, Lucy, Diane

Tyler
Newborn

Information about my horse's pedigree

Postby Tyler » Fri Jul 08, 2005 3:06 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone had any information on my horse's pedigree. I had his tattoo researched (V01855) and it turns out his name is Sugar Draz,his dam is Carter's Magic and sire is Smile. I put his name into the database.

I got his pedigree & race history but do not know enough about the the industry. Can anyone know any information about his sire & dam? Or point me in the direction to decipher is track record, etc.

Even though I have been riding for 30+ years, this is the first time I have had a thoroughbred. He is the most wonderful. lovable beast!

Thank you,
Caryl

Pan Zareta
Breeder's Cup Winner

Postby Pan Zareta » Fri Jul 08, 2005 7:47 pm

Your horse's sire Smile (from the Matchem/Godolphin sire line through Man O'War, In Reality, etc., and the broodmare sire of Smarty Jones, incidentally) was a multiple graded stakes sprinter/miler who earned $1,664,027. He ran 2x in the Breeders Cup Sprint, placed in '85 & won it in '86. He produced Florida stakes winner What A Cooker with Sugar Draz's 2nd dam, What Majesty. Sugar Draz's dam, Carter's Magic had 2 foals that weren't in the db here - Magic Walker & Carter's Devil, both of whom I've added.

Hope you & Sugar Draz have many happy years together!

Tyler
Newborn

Thank you,

Postby Tyler » Sat Jul 09, 2005 8:26 am

Thank you for the information, it is appreciated. Just trying to see what his history is to figure out why he does some things (my first OTTB). I have only had him for 8 months, but he is a special horse to me, like he was sent from heaven!

Are there any pictures of his sire or dam and where I can find any information on them - articles if any?

Gerry
Grade II Winner