Mare due May 12th!

News about mares getting ready to foal, new foals, foal naming, etc.

Moderators: Roguelet, WaveMaster, madelyn

kybred
Weanling

Mare due May 12th!

Postby kybred » Thu May 27, 2010 3:39 am

My second mare to foal has a due date of May 12th. She is now 356 days in foal. She has bagged up and the muscles adjacent to her tail have relaxed, but there are no other signs of impending labor. My vet palpated her a week ago and said he felt movement. He tells me it is "not uncommon" for mares to foal after a year.
This is my first year with foaling and, due to worry, I am certain it has taken 10 years off my lifespan. Has anyone had a similar experience? What are some of the complications that may arise?

LB
Eclipse Champion

Postby LB » Thu May 27, 2010 6:39 am

The frustrating truth is that mares foal when they're good and ready and human impatience does nothing to hurry them along. Believe me, I've been there! :lol:

One of our mares went two weeks late this year--longest ever for us--and had an uneventful delivery of a nice big colt. Though your mare's current gestation seems long to you it falls well within the "normal" range.

As long as your vet is on top of things and not worried, there's little you can do but wait. Chances are, everything will go just fine.

Good luck and keep us posted!

kybred
Weanling

Postby kybred » Thu May 27, 2010 7:49 am

That's comforting to hear. Thank you LB. I'll keep you posted.

LB
Eclipse Champion

Postby LB » Thu May 27, 2010 8:03 am

By the way, I forgot to mention that for some reason many mares are foaling late this year. All of ours went late, to varying degrees, and I've heard the same thing from other breeders. Perhaps it's the cool-ish spring we've had but something is making the mares want to hang on a little longer than usual.

kybred
Weanling

Postby kybred » Thu May 27, 2010 6:38 pm