Family # 1???

Understanding pedigrees, inbreeding, dosage, etc.

Moderators: Roguelet, hpkingjr, WaveMaster, Lucy

Ruffian
Starters Handicap

Family # 1???

Postby Ruffian » Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:29 pm

Okay- looking at a yearling to buy- and at the very end of the ped- I know most of you all know quite a bit about this type of stuff- it says FAMILY NUMBER ONE- now is #1 the best? Or just the first recorded? :?: :?: :?:

Jessi P

Postby Jessi P » Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:32 pm

Ruffian the families were divided up and numbered by Bruce Lowe early on to sort of keep track of which descendants came from which female family... (I am a novice at this, other folks know MUCH more, Bill and Mahubah for example). For more info you can check out http://www.bloodlines.net/amfam.htm

Ruffian
Starters Handicap

Postby Ruffian » Sun Sep 19, 2004 3:34 pm

Thanks Jessi - at least you know more than me!!! lol :D

stancaris
Restricted Stakes Winner

Postby stancaris » Sun Sep 19, 2004 4:32 pm

family #1 has gottenthe most kentucky derby winners in the last 44 years. this family has accounted for 9 of 40 winners and has a strong impact value of 1.53 to win and also to place which also has 9 winners. smarty jones is a member of family 1. My book on the derby goes into this in more detail.

ZiaLand
Breeder's Cup Contender

Postby ZiaLand » Sun Sep 19, 2004 5:17 pm

Stan, can you state the title and publisher of your book again. I'm putting together a library of reference materials.
So many pedigrees...so little time. (C)

Mahubah
Freshman Sire

Postby Mahubah » Sun Sep 19, 2004 5:23 pm

I suspect family #1 also has more members than any others, though I don't doubt the overall quality as well; breeders are much more apt to persevere with strains that have produced good winners and to quit bothering with those that don't.