| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Sunday Silence Moderator
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 Posts: 597
|
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:03 am Post subject: Is there a large ad for Charter on this site? |
|
|
| I want to know in case it's malware because I want to click the X to make it disappear but that may upload it on my computer. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lucy Moderator

Joined: 16 Sep 2004 Posts: 2158 Location: Watertown, MA
|
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have not seen one, myself, even when I'm not logged in, but what ads appear on the site are controlled by your web habits - for instance, I see ones for ancestry.com or other horse sites unless I've just booked a hotel room, then I see travel ads.
If it's a pop-up ad on a site that normally doesn't have them, the fact that it's there at all might mean you already have malware. I'd run a sweep of your computer to be on the safe side (SuperAntiSpyware is very good, and free). |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ElPrado Grade II Winner

Joined: 18 Aug 2007 Posts: 1478 Location: Tampa
|
Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Malwarebytes is also very good and free. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|