Ha ha ha ... now I've heard everything!

General on-topic discussion.

Moderators: Roguelet, hpkingjr, WaveMaster

User avatar
TrueColours
Grade I Winner
Posts: 1635
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Ha ha ha ... now I've heard everything!

Postby TrueColours » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:26 am

I am unable to accomodate this seemingly VERY serious owner who wants to breed to my stallion ... :lol:

Is there anyone else out there who would be interested in his business and I can pass on his contact details to you?

Hello There,
I am Folly W, Edwards,i came across you posted add at ohorse.com while searching for a reputable painted horse breeder to breed my Gelding for two months while i was away in Hawaii for vacation..
I have the current coggins,health certificate and he has being on shot..please let me know any requirement you will be needing to breed him for two months,the charges for the period..
He is a 7years old easy gelding and do well in the in group,he has being on boarding twice in 3 month and 5 months respectively..so this wont be new him ..

I will be looking forward to read from and let you know more about him in my next email..

Regards


It would be a real shame if at least ONE of us couldnt get the business from this fellow ... :lol:
www.TrueColoursFarm.com

Breeders of unique coloured Thoroughbreds & Sport Horses - standing Guaranteed Gold - 16.1hh cremello TB stallion - CSHA and AQHA, APHA, ApHC listed

Fair Play
Allowance Winner
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:52 pm

Postby Fair Play » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:58 am

hahaha Breed, board, what's the difference? ;)

Actually, I have a gelding who would happily breed his gelding with the expected results if he is interested. The "breeding" fee is eight million no guarantee. :D

User avatar
winds
Breeder's Cup Contender
Posts: 1765
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 7:04 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby winds » Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:13 am

That's even worse than John Henry's owner being told when he was thinking of buying him that he was a gelding said " I don't care what color he is. "

You need to set the poor man straight before he embarrasses himself with other people.

winds

User avatar
pfrsue
Grade III Winner
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: You can't get there from here.

Postby pfrsue » Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:18 am

Does being "on shot" mean that he has good marksmanship skills? :lol:

Anyway, I wouldn't want him. If he only wants to be "in the in group" he sounds like kind of a snob.

Fair Play
Allowance Winner
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:52 pm

Postby Fair Play » Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:22 am

In case you guys are not familiar this is a "Nigerian scam". They answer all ads and find some way to send you a fake cashier's cheque or bank draft overpaying for something like shipping. For example, you agree to board this horse for $2000 for two months so he sends you three asking you to give the shipper the $1000 when the horse arrives. The draft is found to be a phony a mnth later and you are out three thousand and the proud owner of some worthless horse. The grammar is a give away. If you don't believe me, advertise a horse, horse wanted, saddle, anything on the Internet and you will get your very own offer.

zinn21
3rd Year Sire
Posts: 3307
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:23 pm

Postby zinn21 » Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:58 am

His name clearly indicates his expertise as pure "Folly"...

Laurierace
Grade II Winner
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 10:14 am

Postby Laurierace » Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:25 am

Fair Play wrote:In case you guys are not familiar this is a "Nigerian scam". They answer all ads and find some way to send you a fake cashier's cheque or bank draft overpaying for something like shipping. For example, you agree to board this horse for $2000 for two months so he sends you three asking you to give the shipper the $1000 when the horse arrives. The draft is found to be a phony a mnth later and you are out three thousand and the proud owner of some worthless horse. The grammar is a give away. If you don't believe me, advertise a horse, horse wanted, saddle, anything on the Internet and you will get your very own offer.


Thanks for clarifying but I am pretty sure the OP knew that and was just enjoying a laugh at an asshats expense. Some horse people might be foolish enough to fall for other versions of this scam but I would hope no one would negotiate to breed a gelding.
On the other hand I have a set of testicles toasting on the barn roof. Maybe we should contract to sell him those and solve both of his problems?

User avatar
SouthernStar
Yearling
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:34 pm
Location: S. California
Contact:

Postby SouthernStar » Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:11 am

Hey TC I got the same email yesterday :roll:
Found it good for a laugh, the email was [email protected] which was odd in itself. I guess the person sent out emails to all breeders they could find.
www.FreedomSporthorses.com
Standing the Thoroughbred stallion Regal Regalia-chestnut frame overo

Fair Play
Allowance Winner
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:52 pm

Postby Fair Play » Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:55 am

Laurierace wrote:Thanks for clarifying but I am pretty sure the OP knew that and was just enjoying a laugh at an asshats expense. Some horse people might be foolish enough to fall for other versions of this scam but I would hope no one would negotiate to breed a gelding.


I know she knows, but I have seen actual discussions on boards that people think (hope/pray) that a similar response to their horse for sale ad could be a legitimate buyer. :eek: I guess it is a sign of how bad the market is. ;) I feel left out. I just keep getting the "I will put zillions in your account from the money I can't get out of my country and I will give you a cut" letters.

User avatar
TrueColours
Grade I Winner
Posts: 1635
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby TrueColours » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:59 am

It sure isnt ever dull out there is it?! :lol:

The sad (weird???) part is that some poor schmuck out there must still be falling for these scams if they keep continuing???

I mean - I cant see these people continuing to send out emails like this if no one in the last 12 months has ever bothered to respond?

I wonder what the average annual income is of the average Nigerian scammer ... :?
www.TrueColoursFarm.com



Breeders of unique coloured Thoroughbreds & Sport Horses - standing Guaranteed Gold - 16.1hh cremello TB stallion - CSHA and AQHA, APHA, ApHC listed

Crystal
Freshman Sire
Posts: 2799
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Lexington, KY

Postby Crystal » Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:15 pm

they must spend tons on those FED Ex overnight deliveries of their fake money orders.. I was collecting them for a while..

Mood Swings
Grade II Winner
Posts: 1473
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:23 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Mood Swings » Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:21 pm

Laurierace wrote:
On the other hand I have a set of testicles toasting on the barn roof. Maybe we should contract to sell him those and solve both of his problems?


LMAO :lol: They may not be worth as much toasted as they are fresh, just so you know 8)
"People come and go but horses leave hoofprints on your heart"

Fair Play
Allowance Winner
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 2:52 pm

Postby Fair Play » Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:46 am

Mood Swings wrote:
Laurierace wrote:
On the other hand I have a set of testicles toasting on the barn roof. Maybe we should contract to sell him those and solve both of his problems?


LMAO :lol: They may not be worth as much toasted as they are fresh, just so you know 8)


Just in case they are toast, I can send a set that I keep forgetting to get out of my barn freezer. :D Imagine opening those ripe babies after a few weeks in the mail.

hpkingjr
Moderator
Posts: 1176
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 6:11 am
Location: KY

Re: Ha ha ha ... now I've heard everything!

Postby hpkingjr » Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:08 am

TrueColours wrote:I am unable to accomodate this seemingly VERY serious owner who wants to breed to my stallion ... :lol:

Is there anyone else out there who would be interested in his business and I can pass on his contact details to you?

Hello There,
I am Folly W, Edwards,i came across you posted add at ohorse.com while searching for a reputable painted horse breeder to breed my Gelding for two months while i was away in Hawaii for vacation..
I have the current coggins,health certificate and he has being on shot..please let me know any requirement you will be needing to breed him for two months,the charges for the period..
He is a 7years old easy gelding and do well in the in group,he has being on boarding twice in 3 month and 5 months respectively..so this wont be new him ..

I will be looking forward to read from and let you know more about him in my next email..

Regards


It would be a real shame if at least ONE of us couldnt get the business from this fellow ... :lol:


Just send him your standard "No Guarantee" contract.