Back to Pedigree Query
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Adding a Stakes Race
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:15 am 
Offline
Maiden Special Weight
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 157
Location: MD
The whole stakes-race DB is a bit odd.

But one huge elephant in the room - to me - is, how to add a stake that simply isn't in the DB yet in any form?

Makes me wonder how so many stakes ARE listed, if you cannot start them up from the main pages.

So how does a stake listing get started?

Also noticed, that there is no entry area for items such as "country". It either is, or isn't there. or is incorrect.

E.g., look up "brighton" for tracks. 2 stakes come which say they are in Great Britain. However, 1 of those shows the track as "Brighton Beach, NY" which is a contradiction (and wrong). And it cannot be corrected by the standard "edit" function for a single year.

How in the heck do you fix these things?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding a Stakes Race
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Posts: 2158
Location: Watertown, MA
the Ol'Line Rebel wrote:
But one huge elephant in the room - to me - is, how to add a stake that simply isn't in the DB yet in any form?


When you do a 'race name' search, above the results you will see blue text that says "Add A New Race Not on the List Below". Click that to get the race addition page. You will be able to add race name, country, etc.

A caveat - it's a heck of a lot harder to remove a race than to add one (I don't even know how it's done). Before adding a race, make sure it does not already exist under another name. I usually check the stakes result tables of a few winners to be on the safe side.

the Ol'Line Rebel wrote:
However, 1 of those shows the track as "Brighton Beach, NY" which is a contradiction (and wrong). And it cannot be corrected by the standard "edit" function for a single year.

How in the heck do you fix these things?


You can't make changes to a race from the page that shows the list of winners. You can do so from either the race search results page, or from the stakes results table of a winning horse.

Right-click on the name of the race in either of these tables, and you will be able to select 'edit/delete' (but delete doesn't work, so don't even bother trying! :wink: Editing works just fine, however).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:40 pm 
Offline
Maiden Special Weight
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 157
Location: MD
Sorry, I just found out you can. However, as always when dealing with the Stakes DB, it's roundabout how you get to it and the whole "right click" thing? Geesh. Roundabout and not at all intuitively obvious. Never mind how there is no cross-reference way to add/edit things. You always seem to need to be in JUST the right spot to do it, even though it seems there should be several places from which to do any of these things.

Oh well. Guess that's what happens when it was left up in the air.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding a Stakes Race
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 11:09 am 
Offline
Yearling

Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:51 am
Posts: 55
Location: Lexington, KY
the Ol'Line Rebel wrote:
The whole stakes-race DB is a bit odd.

E.g., look up "brighton" for tracks. 2 stakes come which say they are in Great Britain. However, 1 of those shows the track as "Brighton Beach, NY" which is a contradiction (and wrong).


Do you mean the stakes race was not at Brighton Beach or that the track did not exist? Because Brighton Beach was one leading tracks in New York during its lifetime, from 1878 to 1908. The noted runner and sire *Voter set a world record for a mile there in 1900. The current Brighton Beach H is named in honor of the former racecourse, just as the Sheephead Bay H is named for the former home of the Suburban H.

_________________
There is no such thing as too much Teddy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding a Stakes Race
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:07 pm 
Offline
Maiden Special Weight
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 157
Location: MD
Pedigree Ann wrote:
the Ol'Line Rebel wrote:
The whole stakes-race DB is a bit odd.

E.g., look up "brighton" for tracks. 2 stakes come which say they are in Great Britain. However, 1 of those shows the track as "Brighton Beach, NY" which is a contradiction (and wrong).


Do you mean the stakes race was not at Brighton Beach or that the track did not exist? Because Brighton Beach was one leading tracks in New York during its lifetime, from 1878 to 1908. The noted runner and sire *Voter set a world record for a mile there in 1900. The current Brighton Beach H is named in honor of the former racecourse, just as the Sheephead Bay H is named for the former home of the Suburban H.


Don't forget Gravesend, either. :wink:

If you type in "brighton" you'll come up with British and American things, e.g., Brighton Beach.

But the BRITISH items sometimes actually show the track as "Brighton Beach, NY", which obviously is NOT in Britain.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group