Back to Pedigree Query
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help!
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:51 pm 
Offline
2yo Maiden

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:23 pm
Posts: 82
How do you enter a horse into the database without an exact year of birth? There seems to be no way to do it, and I'm completely flummoxed.

Currently, I'm trying to enter the mare Hebe, foaled in Australia in the 1840's, by Camerton out of an unknown mare. I can't seem to enter her into the database without some kind of year of birth, but I don't *have* a year of birth.

How do you do it? What's the secret? Or is it impossible?

Help!

~Miesque

_________________
Friends don't let friends vote for Democrats.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:57 am 
Offline
2yo Maiden

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:23 pm
Posts: 82
Another question - not that I'm really expecting any answer :(, which means that the horse I'm trying to add to the South Australian Derby stakes history will not be added...

I'm trying to add Auteuil (c. 1953 by Royal Empire-Lass O'Gowrie) to the database, but every time I attempt to add him, I get a message saying that he's already in the database and that I need to delete and add him again from scratch. Only he's NOT in the database. There's three other Auteuils, but all were foaled in different years and have nothing whatsoever to do with with the Auteuil I'm trying to add.

This is extremely frustrating and very annoying. What is the problem? Am I doing something wrong? It's bad enough that I can't even put in a horse when I'm not certain of his year of birth but I do have his sire and dam. :?

~Miesque

_________________
Friends don't let friends vote for Democrats.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 1:53 pm
Posts: 9513
Location: Louisville, KY
Auteuil ('53 model) IS in the database..

_________________
So Run for the Roses, as fast as you can.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:10 pm 
Offline
Chef de Race: Intermediate

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:51 pm
Posts: 4194
Miesque1973 wrote:
How do you enter a horse into the database without an exact year of birth? There seems to be no way to do it, and I'm completely flummoxed.

Currently, I'm trying to enter the mare Hebe, foaled in Australia in the 1840's, by Camerton out of an unknown mare. I can't seem to enter her into the database without some kind of year of birth, but I don't *have* a year of birth.

How do you do it? What's the secret? Or is it impossible?

You canNOT enter a horse without a birthyear. 'bout the only thing you can do with a horse that old is make an 'educated guess' at the birth year (IOW, think about when her first foal was born and then subtract about 5 years). If you do that, PLEASE make a note in the comments section that the year is unconfirmed and needs to be verified.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:38 pm 
Offline
2yo Maiden

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:23 pm
Posts: 82
madelyn wrote:
Auteuil ('53 model) IS in the database..


Hee! Yeah, I finally got him in, after a number of tries. 'Auteuil4' finally worked.

~Miesque

_________________
Friends don't let friends vote for Democrats.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group