Orphan Foal - Pellets or Milk Replacer?

Veterinary, horse care, and training issues.

Moderators: Roguelet, hpkingjr, WaveMaster, madelyn

Supernova
Maiden Special Weight

Orphan Foal - Pellets or Milk Replacer?

Postby Supernova » Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:50 pm

We have a 5 week orphan foal who is eating roughly 1/2 flake of hay per day and drinking water, can they survive eating only the milk pellets or at this age do they require the milk replacer?

madelyn

Postby madelyn » Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:26 pm

Sounds ominous to me. At that age they are usually getting 25 lbs of milk per day from their dam. I believe the milk replacer is a must.
So Run for the Roses, as fast as you can.....

griff
Leading Sire

Postby griff » Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:06 pm

when faced with a choice, take both

griff
"We has met the enemy and he is us" [Pogo]

Jane
Allowance Winner

Postby Jane » Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:50 pm

I am no expert on the subject but I do have an orphan foal this year. I think the Foal Lac pellets contain almost as much as the milk replacer but the foal would have to eat alot of pellets to make up for the amount of milk he'd be missing out on.

My little guy won't touch the pellets but he loves the milk products, I started out using Foal Lac but due to import problems at the boarder I switched him over to a Canadian product called Foal Gro and he didn't even notice the difference but maybe worth trying a different milk replacer for your guy if you haven't already.

How is the foal looking? Do you have company for him, did the nurse mare not work out?

madelyn

Postby madelyn » Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:12 pm

I have only raised one orphan. He would have been fine without the pellets but not without the milk replacer. He is a nice big horse now, about 16.1 h and none the worse for wear.