inbreeding combinations

Understanding pedigrees, inbreeding, dosage, etc.

Moderators: Roguelet, hpkingjr, WaveMaster, Lucy

Toccet02
Leading Sire

inbreeding combinations

Postby Toccet02 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 2:42 pm

much has been written about inbreeding to a certain sire, or mare, but what about successful combinations? Inbreeding to Secretariat AND Buckpasser AND . . .etc? Any studies?
All shouting does is make you lose your voice.
----Arrested Development

Toccet02
Leading Sire

Postby Toccet02 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:18 pm

so . . . is this a really dumb question that's been written about a trillion times, or something that no one feels like elaborating on, or something too tricky to study? :wink:

----Arrested Development

3nutmeg
Maiden Special Weight

Postby 3nutmeg » Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:17 am

I think this is an interesting idea. Unfortunatately I'm still learning about pedigrees. I would be interested in hearing anyone's thoughts.

Jeff
Starters Handicap

Postby Jeff » Wed May 01, 2013 5:12 pm

If by combinations you mean 'nicks', then they are myriad. The Nearco and his sons and grandsons nicked well with Princequillo and his sons and grandsons, and visa versa.

Fappiano nicks well with in reality. Buckpasser nicks well with In Reality,

Seattle Slew and Mr. P nick well with each other. Naskra nicked well with Bold Ruler dam lines.

Toccet02
Leading Sire

Postby Toccet02 » Wed May 01, 2013 6:37 pm

I don't mean nicks . . .I mean inbreeding (both sire and dam side) to an ancestor somewhere in the first 5 gens...and also to another ancestor. For example http://www.pedigreequery.com/flashy+american
shows inbreeding to Aspidistra AND Rough 'N'Tumble. This makes Quiet American and Great Above pretty closely related, and no doubt the breeder wanted that family reinforcement, but you can't call it a nick, because Great Above is not the sure but great-grandsire of this horse.
see also
http://www.pedigreequery.com/sympathetic+miss with Lalun and Nearco.