pedigree/stallion help!

Understanding pedigrees, inbreeding, dosage, etc.

Moderators: Roguelet, hpkingjr, WaveMaster, Lucy

robingw
Newborn

pedigree/stallion help!

Postby robingw » Wed Aug 10, 2005 3:10 pm

Hi, I'm new to the world of pedigree... just starting looking into my boy's roots. Maybe a few of you can help me with some questions... My gelding's name is Cover Boy (the 1991 model!) by Cravvhit, out of Court Duchess. Now, I have been looking back in his pedigree, and have found some well known names... northern dancer, nijinsky, man o war, etc. Can any of you tell me if his pedigree is considered 'good'? He was never raced, and I don't believe that he was even trained to race. He was originally owned by a Muscillo Racing Stable in Ontario (Canada). I am also looking for information on his sire Cravvhit (FR). Thanks in advance for any information you may be able to share!

Sam
Chef de Race: Intermediate

Re: pedigree/stallion help!

Postby Sam » Wed Aug 10, 2005 3:54 pm

robingw wrote:Now, I have been looking back in his pedigree, and have found some well known names... northern dancer, nijinsky, man o war, etc. Can any of you tell me if his pedigree is considered 'good'?

The short answer ... no.

As for the names the names that you found that are well known, they are all back in the 3rd generation or farther .. and most of the TBs of today contain the same names.

Just because a horse has Northern Dancer in his pedigree, that doesn't make it a "good" one... look up Zippy Chippy.

Bill from WA
Breeder's Cup Contender

Postby Bill from WA » Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:05 pm

A little background on his pedigree. His sire had a racing record of 20 starts, 1 win, 3 seconds, and 1 third, earning $16,375. His dam was a winner with a record of 16-2-2-0, and earnings of $22,533.